La VegaIndependent School District

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

School Board Recognition Month

January 2022 is officially School Board Recognition Month, according to a proclamation issued by Gov. Greg Abbott. The proclamation cites school boards as a key part of Texas education. "They work with parents, education professionals, and community members to create successful learning environments for our students. Our school boards continue to be instrumental as they tackle new challenges for Texas public schools and serve the ever-evolving needs of our students," it reads. La Vega ISD joins with other school districts in Texas in recognizing its School Board Members. Each La Vega ISD School Board Member is dedicated and committed to our District and we appreciate their leadership. Shown in the attached photo are, from left, top row: Raymond Koon, Dr. Sharon M. Shields (Superintendent), and Henry C. Jennings; and from left, bottom row: Rev. Larry Carpenter, Randy Devorsky, Brenda Rocha, and Mildred Watkins.